Book Club: The Necklace

October 13, 2008

My lovely fiance came home with this book for me recently, and I’m about to get started, so I thought I’d share it here. The Necklace: Thirteen women and the experiment that transformed their lives by Cheryl Jarvis was just released this year and has gotten some great press.

Here’s the jist: Four years ago a woman named Jonell McLain saw a diamond necklace in a shop window in Ventura, California. She surely could not afford the extravagant jewel, but it got her thinking about how she could have a piece of it. The answer? Sharing the necklace with 12 other women.

According to reviews: “What started as a quirky social experiment became something far richer and deeper, as the women transformed a symbol of exclusivity into a symbol of inclusiveness. They discovered that sharing the necklace among themselves was only the beginning: The more they shared with others, the more profound this experience–and experiment–became.”

I’m excited to read this, and I’ll report back when I’m done. Want to join me?

Image via amazon.com

